Page 1 of 40 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Sinéad O'Connor

Lyrical acuity and mum-smarts menju56's Avatar

Sinéad O'Connor

Seeing ebby's recent post in the Favourite Song of the Day thread got me thinking about Sinad O'Connor, and a search revealed a lack of a thread. So here one is!

I'm not a Sinad expert by any means but what I have heard I love. So Far... The Best of Sinad O'Connor was my entry point and then I got the two-disc remastered edition of I Do Not Want What I Haven't Got when it was released a couple of years ago.

But I haven't really ventured into her other records yet (I did hear Throw Down Your Arms which I quite liked) and am planning to.

So, share your Sinad O'Connor thoughts, opinions, videos - all is welcome

Love i do not want!!!! One of my all time start to finish albums.

Sinead is a tricky one... I feel she has had a tough time of it but some of the things she has done or said have just made it harder for people to take her seriously. Still she has bucket loads of talent as a singer and songwriter. Looking forward to hearing what direction she takes on Home. I've never seen her live and so am excited for the Manchester shows in the summer.

Top Sinead:
    Last day of our acquaintance
    Troy
    Feel so different
    What doesn't belong to me
    Special Child
    This is a rebel song
    I am stretched on your grave
    Emma's song
    You cause as much sorrow
    Black boys on mopeds
    You made me the thief of your heart

Notable sinead covers:
    Sacrifice
    Hold back the night
    My singing bird
    All apologies

I love everything she's done until Faith And Courage. FAC is her last good album for me; despite some really bad songs ("Dancing lessons" is total crap) I can play this record and have a good time. Everything she made after FAC is just unlistenable for me. Theology is... I don't know a word in English that can describe how much I dislike that album.

But I will be eternally grateful for Universal Mother.