Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: SOTW: EMILY!

SOTW: EMILY!

The Annotated Emily

I'm a very new Joanna fan-- I have always admired her lyrics-- Sawdust and Diamonds, and the closing stanzas of Cosima, specifically-- but didn't get into actually listening to her songs until a couple months back. And what got me to listen were the lyrics to Emily. I'm an amateur astronomer, and the STELLAR references to constellations and the nocturnal imagery and the impeccable rhyme scheme (which I'll discuss below) were all extremely inspiring, and before long I downloaded Ys and gave it a spin. To be honest, though, I have only gotten into three of the songs-- Emily, Sawdust and Diamonds and Cosmia-- but I'm sure I'll come around to the other two.

Now, Emily: as you can see, I am mainly interested in speaking about the structure of the song. The themes I won't discuss as much because they are incredibly personal to me, and also saying "this song teaches me about the meaning of life" totally diminishes the impact. You can see from my little annotation that the rhyme scheme is extremely complex-- but it is EVEN MORE complex than that because I disregarded internal rhyme and focused only on end rhymes. The rhyme scheme goes up to the letter "r" but it never feels disjointed and sprawling because the internal rhymes connect the whole thing together. For example, my favorite instance:

Squint skyward and listen:
    Loving him we move within his borders,
    Just asterisms in the sky's set order.